About Us

The National Bank of Rwanda is the Central Bank of the Republic of Rwanda. It was established by the law of 24th April 1964 and came into force from 19th May 1964. As per the law n° 55/2007 of 30/11/2007, the National Bank of Rwanda is a Public institution with legal personality and independence in operations, administration and financial areas.

The Bank headquarters are located at KN6 Av 4.

It has 5 branches across the country;

  • Musanze Branch in Northern Province,
  • Huye Branch in Southern Province,
  • Rusizi Branch in Western Province,
  • Rwamagana Branch in Eastern Province,
  • Rubavu Branch in Western Province.


Activities and Responsibilities

For the Bank to achieve its mission, it shall perform the following duties:

  • Define and implement the Monetary Policy
  • Organize, supervise and regulate the Foreign Exchange Market
  • Supervise and regulate the activities of financial institutions notably banks, micro finance institutions, insurance companies, social security institutions, collective placement companies and pension funds institutions
  • Supervise and regulate payment systems
  • Mint and manage money
  • Hold and manage official foreign exchange reserves
  • Act as State Cashier
  • Carry out any other task that this law may assign to it